Remember, HCM stands for Hindustani Classical Music.

Chapter 1 – Sur, Sargam, and Saptak: Explains concepts of Sur, Sargam, Arohi/Amrohi, and Saptak very briefly.

Chapter 2 – Types of Sur: Focuses only on the 4 types of Sur that are vaguely introduced in chapter 1.

Chapter 3 – Introduction to Raag: Introduces the reader to Raag and it’s variety of different characteristics.

Chapter 4 – Go Further, Learn Raag: We finally start our journey in Raag Bhairavi and Raag Bilaval.

Chapter 5 – Transposing Music: We talk about transposing our Kharaj, a topic hardly anyone ever mentions.

List of 10 Thaat and Thaat Families: The 10 Thaat are discussed here in some length. Do not confuse them with Raag!
7 Laws of Music: I’m simply going to list each law of music with it’s short description for you to get a sense of these rules.

Chandrakantha – I am very happy to help everyone when it comes to Hindustani Classical Music. Although I understand Taal Music well enough, I do not consider myself to be a worthy mentor in that field. I take my ignorance of teaching Taal Music with great humility. And I’m happy to guide you all to an alternative website made precisely for understanding Taal Music. Please visit the link below to my good friend David Courtney’s website. David has been a professional Tabla artist since 1972. Not only that, but he’s extremely good at the craft of teaching itself.

Music Guide - 5 Steps to Learning Hindustani Music
Music Guide – 5 Steps to Learning Hindustani Music



Get updates about new music news and upcoming events

Email *